Everything You Need To Know About Beef Cuts


Even if you are an avid meat eater navigating the world of beef can be intimidating. With so many beef cuts on the market – and each one requiring a specific cooking method – things can get a little confusing. To help you choose the right cut of beef the Cattlemen’s Beef Board and National Cattlemen’s Beef Association have come up with an infographic that is a real life saver. It highlights 60 different beef cuts, what part of the animal they come from and the best methods for cooking – including grilling, broiling, roasting and slow cooking.

All of the information is color coded and there are pictures of every cut, making the chart easy to navigate. Hey, it may even inspire you to try a new cut of meat. Check it out (click on the image to enlarge):

Whether it’s chuck, brisket, rib, loin, round, plate, or flank, the most important thing you need to know is how to cook it.

The experts at the Cattlemen’s Beef Board and National Cattlemen’s Beef Association created a chart of all the different kinds of beef cuts. It’s coded by what part of the cow it comes from and includes the recommended cooking methods like grilling, broiling, stir-fry, slow cooking, roast, skillet, or skillet-to-oven.



Now that you are familiarizing yourself with beef cuts how about learning the differences in grades of meat? Click on the image below to learn how to distinguish quality meat like USDA Prime from lesser grades like canner.

The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) has certain grades to help consumers differentiate between different quality beef but not many people know the difference between the nine different grades.

This simple infographic from Rastelli Direct sets about explaining the different USDA grades for beef and exactly what each one means.

From the highest USDA Prime to the cutter and canner grades lower down the scale, the infographic quickly explains exactly what a USDA grade on meat is telling you. There are eight grades listed by the USDA but the infographic shows nine with an split added between choice and what they call higher choice.

It’s a useful reference and one that will quickly teach you something that many people don’t know.




Business Insider

Facebook Comments
Share Button

Support us!

If you like this site please help and make click on the button below!